There are different types of vegetarianism, there are those that do not consume and meat or fish and others who consider themselves vegetarian but they choose to consume fish. vegetarians consume vegetables, grains, pulses, legumes, nuts, fruits, fungi and some overlay dairy products, honey and eggs.

The choices of each individual vary, many opt for being vegetarian as they do not want to eat meat but it may also be for health reasons while some abstain from eating meat for religious reasons.